augusta wood

Augusta Wood: I have only what I remember

Now Available on AMAZON

The LACMA Store, Los Angeles County Museum of Art
The MOCA Store, Los Angeles
ARCANA: Books on the Arts, Culver City, CA
Art Catalogues at LACMA
Skylight Books, Los Angeles
KARMA, New York, NY

I have only what I remember is a comprehensive look at Augusta Wood's eponymous photographic series, which deals with the influence of architectural space, photographic images and the elusiveness of memory. Wood's process for these photographs involves arranging many slide projections throughout the interior of the empty modernist home in upstate New York that her grandparents built in 1955. The work uses the architecture, photographic remnants of childhood and family, and images of her grandparents' ingenious but eclectic art collection including Francis Bacon, Helen Frankenthaler, Roy Lichtenstein, among others, to make a genealogical vision. The enormous slide archive from which Wood draws and further augments, traces the role of art, architecture, photography, and memory on multiple levels. In this book, Los Angeles County Museum of Art curator Rebecca Morse writes: “Time is fluid in [these] photographs...each year collapsed upon another and, like our own lives, a series of stills that are not fixed, but in a continuous, cyclical motion.”

ISBN-10: 0-615-96192-4
ISBN-13: 978-0-615-96192-7
Publisher: Augusta Wood / Magic Bird Press © 2014
Design: Gail Swanlund and Augusta Wood
Essay: Rebecca Morse
Poem: W. S. Merwin
Interview: Augusta Wood with Jeremy Wood
Editor: Ginny Cook
Hardcover: 80 Pages
Dimensions: 9.5 x 10.5 x .5 inches
First Edition: 500